Thoughts on My Heart and Other Black Holes



My Heart and Other Black Holes
By: Jasmine Warga
★★★★☆
80%
302 pages
Teen Book


Blurb
A stunning novel about the transformative power of love, perfect for fans of Jay Asher and Laurie Halse Anderson. Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness. There's only one problem: she's not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel's convinced she's found her solution—Roman, a teenage boy who's haunted by a family tragedy, is looking for a partner. Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other's broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together.


My Thoughts

This book is immediately set itself apart from all the others. My Heart and Other Black Holes starts out on a dark, depressing, and spunky tone.

As I expected from the synopsis, this book started out very depressing. The main character, Aysel is also very depressing. I loved to see Aysel slowly, but surely step out of her comfort zone with Roman. I also like how sure Aysel is of what she is going to do and where she is going, but everything changes. I didn't relate much to Aysel, but I did pity her and feel for her. However, I did have a few problems with both Aysel and Roman. I felt that they both had a decent life ahead of them, but they decided that they didn't want to live it. I get that this was made to be realistic about suicidal characters, but I felt that it wasn't realistic enough.

I liked the happy note of this at the end.

I really liked how things were built up to and how the climax was carried out. I thought that the writing was beautiful and it was super fun to read from. However, I did not like the ending. I felt that the ending was way too predictable.I read this book quite a while ago, so I have very little besides this to say.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Why The School for Good and Evil is like Harry Potter

25 Journaling Prompts

You Know Me Well By Nina LaCour + David Levithan